22 MJ & District Sports Hall of Fame event to be bigger than ever – DiscoverMooseJaw.com

We are just over a week away from the Moose Jaw and District Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

This year’s event will look a little different and be substantially bigger, as they will be celebrating 2020, 2021, and 2022 inductees at the same event.

President of the Sports Hall of Fame, Larry Graham says tickets are going fast for the event.

“I can tell you as of today (Tuesday) that we are sitting just below 200 tickets, which was the capacity at the old space at the Moose Jaw Events Center (on the Events Center mezzanine),” says Graham. “They’ve allowed us to move into the curling rink for this event. I’m not sure we can sell out, I’m sure there’s a number but I don’t know what it is.”

In total, 12 athletes/builders and one team will be inducted into the MJDSHF at this year’s ceremony on Oct. 1. Graham explains that 2019 was the hall of fame’s last induction ceremony and with the size of the event this year, he is over the moon excited.

“I am just pumped and so are all of our board members. We’ve got some great inductees and some icons of sports in Moose Jaw. I think we’re happy to get together again, seeing some old friends and hearing some stories. It’s going to be marvelous.”

Tickets are available for $60.00 each (plus applicable fees) at the Moose Jaw Events Center Box Office or online at sasktix.ca or by phone at 306-624-2050.

Tickets will be available for purchase until Sept. 26 at 6:00 p.m

Below is the full list of inductees for this year’s ceremony:

2020 Inductees

  • Darcey Busse – Athlete – Volleyball

  • John Hunter – Builder – Hockey/Baseball

  • Charlie Meacher – Builder – Baseball

  • Dave Pyle – Builder – Wrestling

  • Marg (Curry) Sihvon – Athlete – Basketball

  • Edward “Ed” Staniowski – Athlete – Hockey

2021 Inductees

  • Frank Abdou – Athlete, Builder – Wrestling

  • Lorie Boyle – Athlete – Golf

  • 1992 Amber Holland Curling Team – Team – Curling

  • Levi Steinhauer – Athlete – Football

2022 Inductees

  • Ned Andreoni – Athlete/Builder – Baseball, Athletics

  • John Graham – Athlete – Track & Field, Bobsleigh

  • Rocky Nickel – Builder – Baseball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button